Paula Swenson

In Art and Creativity, Time and Change, Travel on January 17, 2010 at 6:02 pm

“A good traveler has no fixed plans, and is not intent on arriving.” – Lao Tzu

The more I travel the more I adhere to the philosophy of Lao Tzu. I firmly believe that everyone should travel. For some, the biggest adventure they may be comfortable with is an afternoon in the next town or county, for others the further-flung the destination, the better. The distance isn’t important. The important thing is to free yourself from your everyday life, and grab a new vantage point.

Travel is very freeing; it takes us away from our routines and helps us recognize what we truly value, about ourselves, our lives and our world. It matters little if you grab your passport or just take a different route home from the store, if you do it with a traveler’s heart and with eyes wide open, something wonderful will occur, I guarantee it.

Where will you go?

  1. Ah, where will I go… I think San Francisco and then points either north or east are on my radar in August… that’s when my daughter is getting married… I’ll start there and go on.

  2. Sounds like a good journey,Anne, with a lovely starting point, both emotionally and geographically!

  3. I love that you are a travelor, a writer, an artist, and a teacher! I believe everyone should travel as well. I think there is magic in it! The quote from Lao Tzu is wonderful – thanks!

Leave a Reply

